Our People

Back to Home Menu


Russell Dale
FOA R&D Manager

Management of the FOA research programme and FFR is the responsibility of the R&D Manager.  Russell Dale has  held senior executive positions in a number of New Zealand’s largest forestry companies and has been involved in all aspects of indigenous and plantation forest management .  Russell is based at the FOA R&D office in Rotorua.

FOA currently has six research programmes as well as the FFR steep slope Harvesting programme.   The R&D Manager ensures that there is co-ordination and integration across these research programmes and is responsible for managing relationships with investors, including MBIE, PGP and other research organisations such as WQI and RPBC as well as research providers.


Veronica Bennett
Office Manager

Veronica Bennett is an experienced administrator who has worked previously in the forest industry and managed her own small business.  Veronica deals with all membership, website, database, email marketing, accounts and office support.


Each research programme is led by a Technical Committee that works with research partners to scope, guide and direct projects.  Members have been selected for their industry knowledge and experience.  A team of very experienced and respected industry people to lead each programme.

Technical Committees

Sustainable Intensification (GCFF):
Ian Hinton (Chair), Philip Elworthy, Peter Oliver, Aaron Gunn, Kit Richards.

Specialty Wood Products (SWP):
Mark Dean, Sean McBride, Marika Fritzsche, Brendan Smith, Dean Satchell, Minghao Li

Forest Biosecurity (HTHF):
Ian Hinton (Chair) Wei Young Wang, Nigel Heron, Mark Forward, Bill Dyck

Fire Research:
Existing Rural Fire Research Advisory Committee, chaired by Murray Dudfield (National Rural Fire Authority) with Grant Dodson as FOA representative.  Other members are from DOC, Fire Service and Local Government.


Governance is provided by a FOA/FFA Forest Research Committee comprising
representatives of FOA and FFA.  Members are:

Phil Taylor
  Blakely Pacific Ltd

Grant Dodson
(Deputy Chairman)
City Forests Ltd


Glen Murphy
Waiariki Institute of Technology



Photo required


Angus Gordon


Photo required 

Jason Syme
Rayonier Ltd

Photo required


Ian Hinton
Timberlands Ltd

Future Forest Research:

  • Steep Land Harvesting Programme
  • Speciality Wood Products

Programme Managers


Keith Raymond
Harvesting and Logistics
Keith Raymond has wide experience in harvesting research at the former NZFRI and LIRO organisations before working in operational and supply chain management roles in New Zealand’s largest forest companies in the Central North Island.


Marco Lausberg
Specialty Wood Products
Marco previously had a contract role with Wood Quality Initiative and subsequently Solid Wood Innovation as the Research and Technical advisor managing both the structural and logs & stems objectives.
He has had previous experience with species other than radiata including work on the wood properties of Douglas-fir provenances around New Zealand while employed by FRI and working with eucalypt species while at CHH.


Governance of this programme is provided by a small Board of two Directors appointed by the industry investors in the Steep Land Harvesting and Specialty Wood Products research.  The Board oversee strategy, commercial matters and the FOA Management Agreement.

FFR Board Members are:

 Barry Murphy
PF Olsen Ltd

Steve Couper
Ernslaw One

Peter Berg

Peter Berg